Skip navigation


The 2019 Costa Book Award Winners

The 2019 Costa Book Award Winners

8 January 2019

The Costa Book Award winners were announced last night and we are thrilled to say that we have two of them in our library!

This year’s Best First Novel was won by Stuart Turton for The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle. This gripping murder mystery relives the last day of Evelyn over and over again and each time Aidan Bishop is too late to save her. The only way to break this cycle is to identify Evelyn’s killer. But every time the day begins again, Aidan wakes in the body of a different guest. And someone is desperate to stop him ever escaping Blackheath.

Best Novel was won by Sally Rooney for Normal People, following on from the success of her win of Waterstone’s Book of the Year 2018 for the same novel. Rooney, born in 1991, becomes the youngest ever Costa Novel Award winner and her writing, including her first novel Conversations with Friends, has already garnered a whole host of recognition and awards. Sally is currently writing the screenplay for the BBC TV adaptation of Normal People directed by scar-nominated director Lenny Abrahamson (Room, catalogue number 9356).

Normal People centres on Connell and Marianne growing up in the same small town in rural Ireland. The similarities end there; they are from very different worlds. When they both earn places at Trinity College in Dublin, a connection that has grown between them lasts long into the following years.

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton.
Catalogue number 12721

Normal People by Sally Rooney.      
Catalogue number 12942