Skip navigation


Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year

Familiar Faces Mixing with the Newcomers on Popular Crime Award Longlist

25 May 2018

The longlist for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year has been announced with a very strong list of contenders. Four previous winners of the award are featured, Val McDermid, Lee Child, Denise Mina and Chris Brookmyre, while the debut novels of Jane Harper, Emma Flint, Joseph Knox, Imran Mahmood and Abir Mukherjee are also in contention.

The award recognises “the very best in crime fiction” and is open to UK and Irish crime authors whose novels were published in paperback from 1st May 2017 to April 2018. The winner is decided by a panel of judges along with a public vote and the award is presented on 19th July with the lucky recipient receiving a £3,000 cash prize and a handmade, engraved beer barrel.
There are 18 titles in the longlist, ten of which are available to be borrowed from the library at Calibre.

The longlist:

Want You Gone by Chris Brookmyre – 012076

The Midnight Line by Lee Child – 012547

The Seagull by Ann Cleeves – 012358

Little Deaths by Emma Flint – 011994

The Chalk Pit by Elly Griffiths – 012314

The Dry by Jane Harper – 011901

He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly – 012274

Insidious Intent by Val McDermid – 012524

Rather Be the Devil by Ian Rankin – 012103

Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner – 012266

Sirens by Joseph Knox

You Don't Know Me by Imran Mahmood

The Long Drop by Denise Mina

A Rising Man by Abir Mukherjee

The Intrusions by Stav Sherez

Spook Street by Mick Herron

A Death at Fountains Abbey by Antonia Hodgson

The Accident on the A35 by Graeme Macrae Burnet