Skip navigation


Anita Shreve

Remembering Author Anita Shreve’s Legacy

9 April 2018

Popular novelist Anita Shreve has died aged 71 at her home in New Hampshire, America after battling with cancer. She was the author of 18 novels of which “The Pilot’s Wife” was chosen for Oprah Winfrey’s Book Club and was later made into a film and “The Weight of Water” published in 1997 was adapted and made into a film in 2000 directed by Kathryn Bigelow.

Working as a teacher and then a journalist before embarking on her writing career, her first book “Eden Close” was published in 1989. She then went onto sell millions of books worldwide with 2.4 million being sold in the UK alone. Her last book called “The Stars are Fire” is set in October 1947 and tells the story of Grace who is pregnant and must protect her two other children from the raging fires that have broken out along the coast of Maine after a long drought.

There are 16 of Anita’s books that you can borrow from Calibre’s library which are:

The Stars Are Fire             011926

Where or When                 012111

A Change in Altitude         008479

All He Ever Wanted           011190

The Weight of Water          011191

Resistance                         006114

The Pilot’s Wife                  005372

Fortune’s Rocks                 005578

Rescue                               009082

Eden Close                         006193

Sea Glass                           006005

Light on Snow                  006828

Body Surfing                       007978

Testimony                           009083

The Lives of Stella Bain      011189

The Last Time They Met     005859

Photo from Anita's Facebook page. Credit Elena Seibert