Skip navigation


Ross Poldark

BBC Series Poldark returns to the screen

16 June 2017

The popular BBC programme Poldark has returned to our television screens recently and is now in its third season. The actor Aidan Turner plays Ross Poldark, one of the main characters, and the series is based on Winston Graham’s books set in Cornwall, the first of which was published in 1945. He then went on to write eleven other Poldark novels with the last one appearing in 2002. The author undoubtedly used Cornwall as the location for his stories as he had moved there as a teenager and lived there for thirty four years.

You can find all twelve of the Poldark novels in Calibre’s library so why not discover the stories that inspired the television adaptation by borrowing from the following list of books:


1. Ross Poldark                            004819

2. Demelza                                   004957

3. Jeremy Poldark                        004985

4. Warleggan                                005010

5. The Black Moon                        005063

6. The Four Swans                        005229

7. The Angry Tide                          005275

8. The Stranger From The Sea      005398

9. The Miller's Dance                      005478

10. The Loving Cup                        005740

11. The Twisted Sword                   006185

12. Bella Poldark                             006087


Emma Scott 

Photo credit: BBC Press Office