Skip navigation


Baileys Women

Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2017 winner is announced

9 June 2017

The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2017 winner has been announced as Naomi Alderman for her fourth novel The Power. The 30,000 prize was awarded to the author at an awards ceremony at the Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, London which was hosted by novelist and Prize Co-Founder, Kate Mosse.

Tessa Ross, 2017 Chair of Judges, said: “The judges and I were thrilled to make this decision. We debated this wonderful shortlist for many hours but kept returning to Naomi Alderman’s brilliantly imagined dystopia – her big ideas and her fantastic imagination.”

The story at the heart of The Power is the realisation that girls find that with a flick of their fingers, they can inflict agonizing pain and even death. The novel centres round four lives and debates the question of what the world would be like if the power to hurt were in women's hands.

The prize was founded in 1996, and was set up to celebrate excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women throughout the world. The winning book was in a shortlist of five other novels, some of which we have in the library that you might like to try. The titles in the shortlist were:

First Love by Gwendoline Riley   011857

Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien   011899

The Dark Circle by Linda Grant    011938

The Sport of Kings by C E Morgan

Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo



Emma Scott