Skip navigation


Walter Scott

Longlist for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction announced

24 February 2017


The longlist of 13 books chosen by the judges of the Walter Scott Prize has been released. The shortlist will be announced by the judging panel in April and the winner will be revealed at the Borders Book Festival in Melrose, Scotland, on 16th June.

Three of the longlisted books have already won prizes: Costa Book of the Year winner Days Without End by Sebastian Barry; Costa First Novel Award Golden Hill by Francis Spufford, and Waterstones Book of the Year The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry.

The judges announced that “This has been an extraordinary year of historical fiction. We were knocked out by the quality and variety of the entries this year, but we have finally arrived at a longlist of astonishing depth and richness. We look forward to the challenging task of narrowing such a great longlist down to a short list.”

Here is the longlist in full, along with the catalogue numbers for the 5 titles currently available in the Calibre Library:

Jo Baker A Country Road, A Tree

Julian Barnes The Noise of Time 11559

Sebastian Barry Days Without End 11707

Richard Francis Crane Pond

Linda Grant The Dark Circle

Charlotte Hobson The Vanishing Futurist

Hannah Kent The Good People

Ed O’Loughlin Minds of Winter

Sarah Perry The Essex Serpent 11740

Dominic Smith The Last Painting of Sara de Vos

Francis Spufford Golden Hill (Coming soon)

Graham Swift Mothering Sunday

Rose Tremain The Gustav Sonata 11427

For the first time this year, the Prize is publishing an additional list of 20 recommended books including new historical novels from Australia, Canada, and Africa as well as some unmissable books published in the UK. The list is available to view on the Walter Scott Prize website http://www.

Denise James