Skip navigation

Calibre Audio Library

Man Booker 2018

The Man Booker prize is celebrating 50 years this year and in celebration they are asking people to take on the challenge of reading as many of the...

Find out more about Take on the Man Booker Reading Challenge
Valentine's Books

Celebrate Valentine's Day with a romantic read from the Calibre Library - although you may have trouble choosing from the large selection of...

Find out more about Fall in Love with Calibre Books on Valentine’s Day
Wall Mural of Lillian Bilocca

This week Hull's "headscarf revolutionaries", a group of women who fought to improve safety on UK fishing trawlers, were celebrated in a BBC...

Find out more about Hull’s Headscarf Revolutionaries Remembered
RSS

New Books

Fiction for February

Inside the Wave

Author Helen Dunmore who died last year, has just received the Costa Book of the Year award for her collection of poetry Inside the Wave, though she is perhaps better known for her fiction novels and Zennor in Darkness (012328) is one of these. This was her first novel in which she reimagines the plight of D.H. Lawrence and his German wife hiding out in the coastal village of Zennor in Cornwall during the First World War. Here they hope to avoid the suspicious eyes of the London public, however Zennor may not turn out to be the source of refuge that they were seeking.

Wilbur Smith is back with his latest instalment featuring the Courtney family. Written in partnership with author Tom Harper, Tiger’s Prey (012344) focuses on Christopher and Francis Courtney, one of whom is heading down a path of violence and treachery and one is out for vengeance and their paths are about to cross.

A Secret Sisterhood by Emma Claire Sweeney and Emily Midorikawa (012346) is a fascinating insight into the hidden friendships of Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte, George Eliot and Virginia Woolf. Through their correspondence and archives we get a rare picture of Jane Austen’s bond with a family servant, how Charlotte Brontë was inspired by the feminist Mary Taylor; the transatlantic relationship between George Eliot and Harriet Beecher Stowe; and the friendship of Virginia Woolf and Katherine Mansfield who were often mistaken as literary rivals.

After a ten year break Minette Walters is back with her latest offering The Last Hours (012347). Walters has stepped away from the world of crime this time round and produced a historical fiction novel set in the county of Dorsetshire just as the Black Death enters England in 1348. In Develish, Lady Anne takes control of her people's future and along with her slave, Thaddeus Thurkell, they decide to quarantine the area by bringing the serfs inside the walls. With this sudden overturning of the accepted social order, where serfs exist only to serve their lords, conflicts soon arise.

Based on the true story where two young girls claimed they had photographed fairies at the bottom of their garden, The Cottingley Secret by Hazel Gaynor (012372) skips forward one hundred years when Olivia Kavanagh finds an old manuscript and a photograph in her late grandfather’s bookshop. She becomes fascinated by the story of the two young girls who mystified the world and as Olivia is drawn into events a century ago, she begins to understand why a nation once believed in fairies.

In Monarchy; From the Middle Ages to Modernity (012379), historian David Starkey charts the rise of the British monarchy from the War of the Roses, the English Civil War and the Georgians, right up until the present day monarchs of the 20th Century. Perfect for brushing up on your history knowledge.

Fire and Fury by Michael Woolf (012451) the expose of the Donald Trump administration, is taking the book charts by storm and is currently a real conversation point with people trying to decipher the fact from the fiction. Here is your chance to borrow it from the library and make up your own mind.

The moment you mention J R R Tolkien it immediately conjures up images of Middle Earth and the quest for the ring. But though The Lord of the Rings is Tolkien’s best known work, he also wrote six stand-alone novels of which The Children of Hurin (012387) is one. Restored from manuscripts to create one novel, this story reintegrates the reader into the world of Elves and Orcs, taking us to a time long before the Lord of the Rings was set and focuses on Morgoth, the first Dark Lord.

The Winter Garden Mystery by Carola Dunn (012404) is the second in the series featuring reporter Daisy Dalyrmple. In this story Daisy stumbles across the body of the missing maid while photographing the grounds of Occles Hall and in a race against time must track down the killer before she herself becomes the next victim. A book for fans of P G Wodehouse, Frances Brody and Jacqueline Winspear and a perfect read to curl up with in the last days of winter while waiting for spring to arrive.

For the full list of this month’s new books checkout our New Books page.

Read More