Skip navigation

Calibre Audio Library

Wizzy the Animal Whisperer

Calibre was recently invited to attend the launch of the children's book Wizzy and the Seaside Adventure by author Anthony Ridgeway, who is a...

Find out more about The Further Adventures of Wizzy the Wheelchair
older lady close up

Audio books can be a valuable resource as dementia progresses, providing access to hobbies and interests as cognition diminishes and ensuring those...

Find out more about Alzheimer’s and Audio books
In Your Pocket

The Calibre team are always keen to open up as many channels as possible for existing and potential members to listen to our range of over 10,500...

Find out more about Increasing Accessibility with a new way to receive Calibre books
RSS

New Books

August's New Books

In Patagonia

A debut novel that has already won W H Smith’s “Thumping Good Read Award” is now available in the library. The Silent Companions by Laura Purcell (12563) is a fabulously creepy, gothic thriller and has already been featured on Zoe Ball’s TV Book Club and the Radio 2 Book Club. This is a thoroughly recommended read and would appeal to fans of Susan Hill and Kate Morton.

The first in the Emma Harte series of books by Barbara Taylor Bradford is now available to borrow. A Woman of Substance (12702) is a sweeping saga following the rags to riches story of Emma Harte whose journey begins at sixteen years old when she finds herself having to leave her job as a kitchen maid. This was Barbara Taylor Bradford’s first novel and she has since gone on to sell eighty five million of her books worldwide.

Renowned historian Max Hastings who has written books on Winston Churchill and the Vietnam War has now turned his attention to the spying and espionage that took place during World War Two in The Secret War (12703). From the activities at Bletchley Park to the intelligence offensive waged by Germany and the other countries involved in the war, this “Authoritative, exciting and notably well written” book as described by the Daily Telegraph, is a treat for those wanting to find out more about the side of the war that was fought behind closed doors.

Cara Hunter’s book Close to Home (12589) was picked as a Richard and Judy Book Club selection for their spring 2018 collection. Eight-year-old Daisy has gone missing from a family party and Detective Inspector Adam Fawley is investigating, knowing that in this type of case the culprit can often be found close to home. A gripping thriller set in Oxford, this book may appeal to fans of Susie Steiner, Tana French and Ruth Rendell.

If you didn’t know of the actress Dame Maggie Smith from a few decades ago then you can’t possibly have failed to hear of her in recent times with roles in the Harry Potter films and the popular TV series Downton Abbey. In Maggie Smith: A Biography (12728), author Michael Coveney explores Maggie’s career using personal accounts, interviews and correspondence to paint a picture of this much loved national treasure.

Described by the Guardian as “The book that redefined travel writing”, In Patagonia (12699) is Sheffield born author Bruce Chatwin’s classic account of his explorations in a remote country and of his experiences and encounters whilst there. His fascination with Patagonia began in early childhood and the shape of his journey was one that took him right into the landscape to better understand the area.

Author Georgette Heyer was well known for her regency romances and mysteries and Cousin Kate (12706) was one of the last novels that she wrote before her death in 1974. The Kate depicted in the title is governess Kate Malvern who falls on hard times and is taken in by her aunt. However Kate soon begins to realise there may be more to her aunt’s seemingly generous act than first thought. A classic and enjoyable read.

Tarquin Hall the British writer and journalist has drawn inspiration from his travels abroad in creating his crime novels featuring India’s most private investigator Vish Puri. The Case of the Man Who Died Laughing (12566) is the second in this series and follows Vish Puri as he investigates the suspicious death of a man attending his therapeutic laughing club. If you enjoy Alexander McCall Smith’s No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series then this may be one for you to try.

Read More