Skip navigation

Calibre Audio Library

Oh Yes They Did!

15/01/19
Pantomime Cow

We just wanted to say a huge thank you to the Dulwich Players for their fundraising efforts. For their Christmas Pantomime, the Players put on a...

Find out more about Oh Yes They Did!
woman wearing headphones looking out of window

It's the age-old tradition of 'turning over a new leaf' that we either embrace with open arms or shy away from. If you fall into the former...

Find out more about New Year, New You?
The 2019 Costa Book Award Winners

The Costa Book Award winners were announced last night and we are thrilled to say that we have two of them in our library! This year's Best First...

Find out more about The 2019 Costa Book Award Winners
RSS

New Books

January's New Books

Eric Idle

The Sunday Times bestseller, A Summer at Sea by Katie Fforde (12932) is the perfect book to take you to warmer climes and take you away from the chills of winter. The book centres around Emily who while enjoying her career as a midwife, feels in need of a change so when her best friend Rebecca asks whether she’d like to spend the summer cooking on a ‘puffer’ boat just off the Scottish coast, she jumps at the chance. This book would appeal to fans of Veronica Henry, Erica James and Fern Britton and if reading a book set in summer is one step too far at the moment then keep this on your book list for a holiday read.

The long awaited conclusion to the Shetland series written by Ann Cleeves has arrived. Wild Fire (13002) sees Detective Inspector Jimmy Perez investigating the death of a nanny found hanging in the barn of a family who have just moved to the area. Suspicion begins to arise around the family after rumours of an affair between the husband and the nanny which are spreading like wild fire. There are eight books in this series so if you haven’t come across them before why not start from the beginning as they are all available in Calibre’s library.

Len Deighton is perhaps best known for his spy stories which includes SS-GB, a book that was adapted for television in 2017. However he also wrote non-fiction and Fighter: The True Story of the Battle of Britain (12909) is Deighton’s account of the history of the Battle of Britain. As an ex-RAF pilot he has given an insight into the aerial combats between the RAF and Luftwaffe, and the strategies adopted by either side. Using his skills as a novelist he has brought the battle and the people involved to life.

Actor Simon Callow is a household name starring in film, television and theatre roles throughout his career. However he is also an author of several non-fiction works, one of which is Being Wagner (13029), a book which captures both Wagner’s genius and the demons that assailed him. Rather than being a straight forward biography of facts this version of Wagner and his life is story like in its delivery and because of this has an appeal not only to people who enjoy biographies but to those who just enjoy a good tale.

If you are a fan of comedy then at some point you would have encountered Eric Idle, if not on his own merit then certainly as part of the Monty Python team. Amazingly after nearly five decades entertaining the nation he has never written his biography – until now. Always Look on the Bright Side of Life: A Sortabiography (13036) is packed with Eric’s tales of how he ended up in a career making people laugh. From meeting his fellow Python’s, to holidaying with David Bowie and Iggy Pop, Eric recounts his experiences in his own inimitable style and as he also narrates the book why not invite him into your home to let him tell you the story himself.

Adam Nicholson is a writer of many talents and has tackled history, landscape and nature as his topics. In his most recent work he is back writing about nature in The Seabirds Cry (13021), which looks at the lives and habitats of seabirds such as puffins and gannets and points out the very real plight they face as their numbers dwindle towards possible extinction. This book was winner of the Wainwright prize in 2018 which rewards the best writing on the outdoors, nature and UK-based travel.

Alistair Maclean was master of the adventure novel and Where Eagles Dare (13027) is a great example of his work. Made into a film in 1968 starring Clint Eastwood and Richard Burton, it follows a group of allied soldiers as they undertake a daring rescue to free a general being held captive. Why not revisit this classic or discover it for the first time.

In 1954 David Attenborough was invited to travel the world to find rare animals for London Zoo’s collection and film his expeditions for the BBC. In Adventures of a Young Naturalist (12959), he recounts his experiences during this time and talks in his usual captivating manner about the wonders he discovered in the natural world while on these trips.

Read More