Skip navigation

Calibre Audio Library

Mental Health Awareness Week 2018

This year the Mental Health Foundation is focussing on stress for Mental Health Awareness Week (14 to 20 May). According to research, as many as...

Find out more about Mental Health Awareness Week 2018
The Midnight Line

The Richard and Judy Book Club is back this summer with eight titles featuring a mixture of familiar and less well-known names. Lee Child has been...

Find out more about Join in With the Richard and Judy Summer 2018 Book Club
World Book Night 2018

World Book Night is a national celebration of reading and books which takes place on April 23rd every year. Run by The Reading Agency, books are...

Find out more about World Book Night 2018
RSS

New Books

New Books for May

Sea Legs

Adventurer and entrepreneur Guy Grieve has been back on his travels resulting in the publication of Sea Legs: One Family’s Adventure on the Ocean (012447). Having been back in Scotland for three years after his last adventure, Guy and his family have become restless and so re-mortgaged their house and bought a yacht. This is their story of travelling to Venezuela to pick up the boat and sail it back to Scotland and recounts the good times and the bad as they try to recover their freedom from daily routines and all with Guy having virtually no sailing experience.

In 2006 Terry Walton and his allotment became a regular feature on Jeremy Vine’s Radio 2 programme. He has since gone on to write an entertaining memoir called My Life on a Hillside Allotment (012581). In this book he tells the story of his 50 years maintaining an allotment in the Rhondda Valley in South Wales and shares anecdotes, tips and recipes along the way.

Professor Brian Cox is a familiar face on our TV screens and helps to make the intricacies of the scientific world accessible for all. In How to Build a Universe (012596) which he co-authors with Robin Ince, his sparring partner on BBC Radio 4’s Infinite Monkey Cage, they tackle everything from the Big Bang to parallel universes and fierce creatures to extra-terrestrial life. If this doesn’t help you to understand a bit more about the universe then it may make you laugh at the very least.

Down Lambeth Way by Mary Jane Staples (012449) is the very first in the series featuring the Adams family. Set in 1914 this family saga follows widow Mrs Adams and her children who are experiencing tough times yet manage to remain cheerful and respectable. With World War One on the horizon things are about to change but the Adams family with their stoic outlook will face the challenges whatever happens. Fans of Beryl Matthews, Kitty Neale and Lilian Harry may like this.

Val McDermid, popular crime author and currently involved on the judging panel for the 2018 Man Booker Prize brings us her latest in the Carol Jordan and Tony Hill series called Insidious Intent (012524). In this case single women are going missing from weddings only to turn up in their own burnt out cars. Psychologist Tony Hill and Detective Carol Jordan come together once again in their toughest case yet. This series does come with a warning though as it is not for the feint-hearted.

Educated: A Memoir (012559) is the New York Times and Sunday Times best-selling memoir from Tara Westover. This is the story of a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family in the mountains of Idaho, and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University. Labelled as “…an inspirational, truly unique coming-of-age tale" by the BBC Ones to Watch in 2018 this is a book that will stay with you.

Caz Frear’s debut novel Sweet Little Lies (012598) made an immediate impact by winning The Richard and Judy “Search for a Bestseller” competition. The story focuses on Cat Kinsella who overcame a troubled childhood to become a Detective Constable with the Metropolitan Police. When she's called to the scene of a murder in Islington, near the pub her estranged father runs, she rushes headlong into the investigation, crossing ethical lines and trampling professional codes. What’s more is she begins to suspect her dad has not been entirely truthful about knowing one of the victims.

Jo Jo Moyes continues the story of Louisa Clark in Still Me (012531) as she moves onto new experiences after caring for Will Traynor. This time she is off to New York in the employ of a rich family which propels her into New York high society. Here she meets Joshua Ryan who reminds her of a man she once knew and while she doesn’t know what will happen she knows something is about to change.

The Odin Misson (012557) by James Holland introduces Sergeant Jack Tanner who in 1940’s Nazi Germany is left with his patrol, stranded in the mountains in the chaos of retreat. Trying to re-join their unit, it quickly becomes clear that the small band of fugitives can rely on no one but themselves.

All of the Jack Reacher short stories written by Lee Child are collected together for the first time in No Middle Name (012558). The Twelve stories shed new light on Reacher’s past, and details how he grew up and developed into one of the most iconic fictional heroes of our age.

For the full list of this month’s new books checkout our New Books page.

Read More