Skip navigation

Calibre Audio Library

Ready Player One

Dystopian Science Fiction novel Ready Player One by Ernest Cline will be hitting cinema screens on March 29th. The film rights were picked up by...

Find out more about Ernest Cline Book gets the Spielberg Treatment
Stephen Hawking

Tributes have been pouring in from around the world following the death, earlier today, of Stephen Hawking - widely regarded as one of the most...

Find out more about Stephen Hawking – World-renowned Physicist Dies Aged 76
World Glaucoma Week 2018

This week is World Glaucoma Week which encourages people to get regular eye and optic nerve checks to detect glaucoma earlier so that it can be...

Find out more about World Glaucoma Week – 11th-17th March 2018

New Books

More fabulous new books

Queen of Four Kingdoms

Written by Her Royal Highness Princess Michael of Kent, The Queen of Four Kingdoms (012232) is the first title in the Anjou trilogy. Based on a true story the book focuses on Yolande of Aragon who at nineteen is promised in marriage to the Duke of Anjou to form an alliance between the kingdoms of Anjou and Aragon. What follows turns out to not only be a great love story but the tale of a true heroine in Yolande who is left to govern the kingdoms. Fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick may enjoy this.

Jo Nesbo is back with his latest scandi-crime offering featuring Norwegian detective Harry Hole who is called in to investigate the murder of a woman after an internet date. The Thirst (012412) is Nesbo's twentieth book with five of those having been written for children. Two of his books The Snowman and Headhunters have been made into films.

The Waterway Girls (012438) is the first novel in Milly Adam's family saga series set during World War Two. Polly leaves London to join the war effort on the canals. Working with her fellow crew she adapts to life on the narrowboat as they journey from London to Birmingham and discovers a world of possibilities in the midst of the turbulence of war. Perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Elaine Everest.

Hailed as a "touching, funny and romantic" debut by the Daily Mail, The Keeper of Lost Things (012406) by Ruth Hogan is the story of aging author Anthony Peardew and his collection of lost objects. As Anthony realises his time is running out he leaves his house and all his possessions to his assistant Laura as he believes she is the only one who can fulfil his legacy and reunite the objects with their owners. Winner of the Richard and Judy Autumn Book Club 2017.

In Only Fools and Stories (012418) the well-loved actor David Jason best known for his appearances as detective Jack Frost and Del Boy in the hit comedy Only Fools and Horses, follows on from his first biography recounting the years where he went from Del-Boy to Granville and Pop Larkin to Frost. He takes us behind the scenes of these productions and tells of how they changed him and his career. A must read for fans of the actor or the characters he has played.

The Island at the End of Everything (617437) is Kiran Millwood Hargrave's second novel and tells the story of Amihan who lives on the island of Culion with her mother. Some of the people on the island have leprosy including Amihan's mother and when a government official arrives demanding that all healthy people leave the island Amihan must journey across the sea and wonders if she will be able to find a way to get back. Shortlisted for the Costa Children’s Book Award and the Blue Peter Book Award.

Eight authors were given the freedom of their favourite English Heritage place after visiting hours in order to conjure up enough atmosphere and inspiration to create the ghost stories included in Eight Ghosts: The English Heritage Book of New Ghosts Stories (012317). Jeanette Winterson visited Pendennis Castle, Mark Haddon visited York Cold War Bunker and Sarah Perry visited Audley End and armed with rumours of hauntings of their chosen places they and the other authors in the collection have spun tales worthy of their chosen settings.

Writer and performer Barry Cryer is no stranger to keeping his audience entertained and this is exactly what he aims to do with the collection of stories and anecdotes in The Chronicles of Hernia (012322). Having worked with many of the legends in show business such as Tommy Cooper, Morecambe and Wise, and Peter Cook he has a wealth of material to choose from, some of which are captured in this book.

Simon Winchester has already written several non-fiction books on topics such as the San Francisco earthquake of 1906 and the man who created the first geological map and in Atlantic: A Vast Ocean of a Million Stories (012282) he aims to chart the biography of this vast stretch of water. From its origins, to the people whose lives depended on it, Winchester merges history and science to bring the story of the Atlantic to us.

Lion: A Long Way Home(012260) is the story of Saroo who at five years old loses contact with his family in India after getting lost at a train station. So begins the remarkable tale of how he ends up living on the streets before being taken into the care of a family in Australia. Twenty Five years later Saroo embarks on trying to retrace his steps to find the family he left behind. Now a major film starring Dev Patel and Nicole Kidman this story is both moving and inspirational.

Grace Cavendish the maid of honour to Elizabeth 1st is back to solve another mystery at the court. In The Lady Grace mystery: Conspiracy (617419) Lady Grace must embark on another special investigation when a terrible accident points towards someone trying to hurt Queen Elizabeth. A great children's book which is a good one to share and enjoy with younger friends and family members.

For the full list of this month’s new books checkout our New Books page.

Read More