Skip navigation

Calibre Audio Library

Books close up

It's always fantastic to hear from our members and any book recommendations they wish to share with others. This month one member called Calibre to...

Find out more about Books: Member Recommends…
Group laughing

Reading books has many health benefits; from reducing stress and helping to combat memory loss, to boosting mental health. Books provide us with...

Find out more about Audiobooks for a happier and healthier life
National Reading Group Day 2019

National Reading Group Day is run by The Reading Agency, in partnership with the Booksellers Association and takes place on Saturday 15th June in...

Find out more about National Reading Group Day
RSS

New Books

July's New Books

July

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry Augustby Claire North (13322) is a wonder for the imagination. The main character Harry August is a Kalachakra - he is a person with the gift of dying only to be re-born to live the same life again. He discovers he is not alone in this and joins a society full of other people like him called the Cronus Club. Harry receives a message at the end of his eleventh life that the world is ending and so he must track down the threat in his next lives before it’s too late. This is a captivating well written story and even though each chapter jumps between the past and present lives of Harry, it is done seamlessly. Fans of "The Time Travellers Wife" and "The One Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of a Window and Disappeared" may like this book.

You may know Graham Norton for his Friday night chat shows but did you also know he is now the author of two works of fiction. Holding (13325) is a novel that you can lose yourself in straight away. Centred round a small community in Ireland you become instantly involved with all the characters because they are described so well by the author. The story has many different strands; it’s a study of family relationships and small community politics with a hint of a crime drama running through it so it has something for everyone. It is the sort of book you could imagine being made into a TV drama. It is a light, entertaining read perfect for summer holidays. This is Graham’s first book so if you enjoy this one then why not try his second book called A Keeper (13326).

You may not know the name of Mary Anning but she was an important figure in the natural history world and inspired the works of eminent scientists in the Victorian era including Charles Darwin. Mary Anning lived in Lyme Regis in Dorset, an area rich in fossils. Mary became a fossil hunter, dealer and palaeontologist selling a lot of her finds to scientists, museums and societies but yet was never acknowledged for her discoveries by her peers. She found the first ichthyosaur skeleton and two more complete plesiosaur skeletons which is no mean feat for a profession that was not without its dangers having narrowly avoided being buried by a landslide when out collecting. Mary was a revelation for her times and her history is fascinating so why not find out more about her and listen to Jurassic Mary: Mary Anning and the Primeval Monsters (13247). If you enjoy this book then can we also recommend a fiction novel written about her by Tracey Chevalier called Remarkable Creatures (8549).

Ant Middleton is most well-known for presenting the television programme SAS: Who Dares Wins, pushing people to the limits of their endurance both mentally and physically. His bestselling book First Man In (13300) deals with his time as a soldier in the SAS and how he overcame adversity and learnt to become a leader. He served in the Special Boat Service, the naval wing of the special forces, the Royal Marines and 9 Parachute Squadron Royal, achieving what is known as the ‘Holy Trinity’ of the UK’s Elite Forces. This is a book to inspire you to excel at whatever life brings your way.

Belinda Bauer is a British Crime writer and has eight books to her name. In Rubbernecker (13324) Patrick Fort is a medical student with Asperger’s Syndrome and he is not convinced that the body he is working on in his anatomy class died of natural causes. However getting someone to listen to him is another challenge altogether and he begins to suspect that something is severely amiss. The book won the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. This is both a great story and a good choice for those that don’t like violent or graphic crime thrillers.

Take the chance to revisit an adventure classic with Alistair MacLean’s The Golden Gate (13339). In this story the seemingly impenetrable Presidential motorcade enters onto The Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco as the FBI watches on. Halfway across a daring kidnap takes place and the action begins in earnest. Alistair MacLean wrote twenty nine books in total with many of his books being adapted for film. He joined the Royal Navy at the age of eighteen which gave him the background to write his first novel HMS Ulysses.

Last month we featured the first in the Kitty Peck historical crime novels by Kate Griffin and we have just added the second in the series, Kitty Peck and the Child of Ill Fortune (13329). Kitty becomes embroiled in another drama courtesy of her wayward brother when she visits him in Paris and is asked to transport a child back to London with her who could be in danger. But on her return it is clear that someone has followed them and is determined to get to the child Can Kitty protect the boy and all those round her from harm? These stories really bring the period to life, from the vibrant music halls to the harsh realities of how the working class had to live, they transport you to the sights, sounds and smells of Victorian London.

Stephen Fry is well known for hosting the quiz show QI and being the voice of the Harry Potter audiobooks. Now he has put his vocal talents to narrating his own book called Mythos: The Greek Myths Retold (13309). Here Stephen Fry takes the Greek myths that we know so well and re-tells them for a modern audience. From Pandora’s box to the love affair between Eros and Psyche, here is a book where you can reacquaint yourself with the stories or discover them for the first time.

A 1950s Childhood: From Tin Baths to Bread and Dripping(12201) has been a popular book in the library so we have now added the next instalmentA 1960s Childhood: From Thunderbirds to Beatlemania (13292). This is a great social history book of the period as author Paul Feeney takes us through this decade with nostalgia and affection, discussing holidays, music, hobbies, games and fashion.

Read More